Work Menu . 2

This week I tried a few new recipes and had a few repeats from last time. Wondering why I’m sharing this menu? Check out my last  post!

Caramelized onion and broccoli quiche… same as last time, no changes.

I made the Roasted Veggies with Kale Tahini Sauce again. This time I made a few minor changes: I used white sweet potatoes, instead of roasting an onion with the other veggies I caramelized an extra onion while making some for the quiche and threw those in with the roasted carrots and sweet potatoes, and I used about 1/3 cup frozen kale instead of going through the steps of stemming and steaming the kale leaves.

This Sweet Potato & Collard Green Hash is a big fave… I’ve made it a half-dozen times. I use bacon grease to start it all off and then omit the garlic scapes and use some pre-cubed smoked ham.

My client got me hooked on the blog The Paleo Mom and we have both been reading about the benefits of eating organ meat so we decided to try one of the recipes off the blog. The first for me to try was the hidden-liver meatloaf. It’s a mix of beef, pork, and liver with some serious spices to cover up the iron taste of the liver. I haven’t heard how it turned out yet because it has to sit for 4-6 hours before cooking so the flavors have plenty of time to meld.

To serve with the meatloaf, I made twice-baked sweet potatoes, loosely following this recipe.

For a breakfast or snack option I made breakfast cookies. I used cocoa nibs and dried cranberries instead of chocolate chunks.

To round things out, I tried a new recipe that my client found for paleo poptarts. The crust was a bit chewy but had good flavor. I used strawberries instead of raspberries and ended up having filling left over that I think it would be perfect as jam for toast.

-Abigail

