Work Menu . 1

Black-Bean-Soup-Setting

For about 2 years I’ve been a personal chef for a family of 5. I mostly cook for the mom, who’s become aware over the years of a growing number of food sensitivities and suffers from Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. The kids now eat gluten-free also so the meals I cook are all gluten, dairy, and (mostly) soy free. Other avoided foods thrown in the mix are bell peppers, bison, basil, white potatoes, blueberries, and about a dozen other random foods.

Cooking with so many food allergies can be daunting and overwhelming, especially when you first learn about the allergies. I thought it might be helpful to people out there if I shared links/recipes to the meals I cook each week with notes about the recipe and modifications or substitutions I made.

5.27.14 Menu:

Kale Salad – A lot like this one I made a while back. I made a simple dressing of honey, lemon juice, juice from a grapefruit I segmented, grapeseed oil, and salt. Then I added chunks of grapefruit and roasted & salted pistachios, roughly chopped. And remember, always start by massaging your kale with a pinch of salt to break down the bitterness!!

Herb Roasted Veggie Bowl with Tahini-Kale Sauce – this is one of those dishes I made and then immediately went home and made it for myself!! The only thing I changed was to use button mushrooms instead of shitake because of the preference of my client.

Turkey Shepherd’s Pie – Love this recipe cause it’s easy and homey. I used broth instead of milk, Earth Balance instead of butter (you could also use refined coconut oil or a little olive oil),  and left off the cheese. I also used white sweet potatoes instead of white potatoes. Oh and for the frozen corn I used a fire-roasted corn that Whole Foods carries.

Mini Polenta Pizzas – these were a hit. Since I can’t use basil, the first time I made them I used an arugula pesto and this week I used an arugula/kale pesto. I definitely liked them better with the straight arugula pesto. I find that I need closer to 2 whole onions caramelized so that each pizza gets plenty! Also, each time it’s felt like it takes longer than 8-10 minutes for my polenta to cook! Next, I’d love to try these with prosciutto and some sun-dried or roasted tomatoes.

Caramelized Onion & Broccoli Quiche – For the crust: use your favorite pie/tart crust recipe and roll it out and place in 9-inch pie pan. For the filling: 1/2 onion sliced thin with a bit of oil in a saucepan. Cook low and slow until caramelized. Add 1 cup chopped broccoli. Season with salt and pepper. In a bowl combine 6 eggs, 1/3 cup alternative milk of choice (I use almond), salt, pepper and beat until well combined. Place veggie mixture in a prepared pie crust, pour egg mixture over top, and bake at 350 for about 40mins or until egg mixture is set.

